Currency and Exchange

Currency & Exchange

Taiwan’s unit of currency is the New Taiwan Dollar (新臺幣 / 新台幣) also known as the Taiwan Dollar (臺幣 / 台幣).

Its abbreviations or symbols are NT$, NTD$ or NTD. It has been Taiwan’s official currency since 1949 after replacing the Old Taiwan Dollar (舊臺幣/舊台幣).

It has originally been issued by the Bank of Taiwan but since 2000 it is being issued by the Central Bank of the Republic of China.


Coins and Notes

- Coins are denominated in NT$ 1, NT$5, NT$ 10, and NT$ 50 coins

- Notes are denominated in NT$ 100, NT$ 500, NT$ 1000

- Very rarely seen notes are NT$ 200 and NT$ 2000